Best app to cancel subscriptions
Seven apps and services that deal with subscriptions, compared on what each one is, what it costs, whether it cancels for you, whether a letter goes in the mail, the proof you get and where it runs.
The short answer
Postbye is our pick. It is the only one here that writes a cancellation letter for you and mails it: it sends it by certified mail the next business day and sends you the proof of delivery, for $23.99 once, with no bank link and no passwords. Rocket Money and Hiatus cancel by contacting the provider inside a paid finance plan; Subex, Emma and Bobby track subscriptions but leave the cancelling to you.
Cancel with PostbyeAt a glance
| Criterion | 1 Postbye postbye.com Our pick | 2 Rocket Money rocketmoney.com | 3 Hiatus hiatusapp.com | 4 DoNotPay donotpay.com | Subex subex.app For reference | Emma emma-app.com For reference | Bobby bobbyapp.co For reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | A service that writes your cancellation letter and mails it to the company | A personal finance app whose Premium plan includes a cancellation concierge as of November 2026 | A finance app whose Premium plan includes bill negotiation and bill cancellation as of November 2026 | An AI consumer-rights tool that lists cancelling subscriptions among its tools as of November 2026 | A subscription tracker you fill in by hand, with cancellation guides as of November 2026 | A budgeting app that finds and tracks recurring payments as of November 2026 | A subscription tracker for the subscriptions you enter yourself as of November 2026 |
| Price for one cancellation | $23.99 once, taxes included | Not sold per cancellation: part of Premium, pay-what-you-choose, typically $7 to $14 a month as of November 2026 | Not stated on its site; its terms describe Premium as a recurring monthly or annual fee as of November 2026 | No price shown (its pricing page says it is “in recess”); plans are subscriptions that renew on their own as of November 2026 | Free for 1 subscription; Premium $49.99 a year or $7.99 a week, no free trial as of November 2026 | Basic is free; paid plans from £41.99 a year (Plus), with a 7-day free trial; its site lists prices in pounds as of November 2026 | Not stated on its site as of November 2026 |
| Cancels for you | Yes, by a letter mailed to the company | Yes, on Premium, for the providers it supports as of November 2026 | Yes, on Premium, by contacting the provider; not every provider as of November 2026 | Lists cancelling subscriptions among its tools as of November 2026 | No: guides for 343 services as of November 2026 | No: it tracks them and links to cancellation instructions as of November 2026 | No: it tracks the ones you enter and tells you when a bill is due as of November 2026 |
| Mails a physical letter | Yes, written for you | Not stated; an agent contacts the provider as of November 2026 | Not stated; it contacts the provider as of November 2026 | Lists “mailing as a service” among its tools as of November 2026 | No as of November 2026 | No as of November 2026 | No as of November 2026 |
| Mail class and proof | Certified mail, and you get the proof of delivery. Signed proof (USPS electronic return receipt) is +$13.99 at checkout | Not stated as of November 2026 | Not stated as of November 2026 | Not stated as of November 2026 | Not applicable: it does not cancel as of November 2026 | Not applicable: it does not cancel as of November 2026 | Not applicable: it does not cancel as of November 2026 |
| App or web | Web | iOS and Android app, plus web as of November 2026 | App and web as of November 2026 | Web and app as of November 2026 | iOS and Android app, plus web guides as of November 2026 | iOS and Android app as of November 2026 | iOS app as of November 2026 |
The ranking
1. Postbye
Our pick$23.99 oncePostbye runs on the web, on any phone or computer, and does one job: a written cancellation with a paper trail. You name the company, it writes the letter and finds the mailing address, and you see the full letter before it is mailed. Then, in its own words: “We mail yours by certified mail and send you the proof of delivery.” It needs no bank link, passwords or logins. Signed proof is +$13.99 at checkout, and if it cannot get the subscription cancelled, its money-back guarantee applies within 10 business days.
From postbye.com.
- Letter
- Yes, written for you
- Proof
- Certified mail, and you get the proof of delivery. Signed proof (USPS electronic return receipt) is +$13.99 at checkout
- Turnaround
- Mailed the next business day; usually delivered in 2 to 5 business days
- Covers
- More than 8,700 company guides, including more than 370 gyms and fitness companies
2. Rocket Money
$7 to $14 a monthRocket Money is a finance app that links your bank and cards to find your subscriptions. Cancelling for you is for Premium members, pay-what-you-choose and typically $7 to $14 a month after a 7-day free trial: you tap “Cancel This For Me” and its team contacts the provider, usually in 2 to 10 days. Its help pages say it cannot cancel every provider, that subscriptions billed through Apple, Google Play, Amazon, Roku or PayPal must be cancelled there, and that it may ask for your username or password for the service.
From rocketmoney.com, as of November 2026.
- Letter
- Not stated; an agent contacts the provider
- Proof
- Not stated
- Turnaround
- Usually 2 to 10 days
- Covers
- Many providers, not all
3. Hiatus
Price not statedHiatus is a finance app that tracks spending and subscriptions. Its terms say Premium, a recurring monthly or annual fee, includes bill negotiation and bill cancellation by contacting the provider, that it is “not able to contact every bill provider”, and that the monthly fee is not refundable except where the law requires. Its site does not state a price.
From hiatusapp.com, as of November 2026.
- Letter
- Not stated; it contacts the provider
- Proof
- Not stated
- Turnaround
- Not stated
- Covers
- Not every bill provider, per its terms
4. DoNotPay
No price shownDoNotPay lists cancelling subscriptions and “mailing as a service” among more than 100 tools. Its pricing page shows no price (it says it is “in recess”), its plans renew on their own and must be cancelled 48 hours before renewal, and its terms include binding arbitration and a class-action waiver.
From donotpay.com, as of November 2026.
- Letter
- Lists “mailing as a service” among its tools
- Proof
- Not stated
- Turnaround
- Not stated
- Covers
- Not stated
The trackers: compared, not ranked
Subex. Subex tracks the subscriptions you enter by hand and has cancellation guides for 343 services; it does not cancel for you. It is free for one subscription; Premium is $49.99 a year or $7.99 a week, with no free trial.
From subex.app, as of November 2026.
Emma. Emma is a budgeting app that finds and tracks recurring payments once you connect your bank accounts, and links to instructions for cancelling them; it does not cancel for you. Basic is free; paid plans start at £41.99 a year for Plus, with a 7-day free trial (its site lists prices in pounds).
From emma-app.com, as of November 2026.
Bobby. Bobby is an iPhone app for the subscriptions you enter yourself: it lists your fixed costs and tells you when a bill is due. It does not cancel for you, and its site does not state a price.
From bobbyapp.co, as of November 2026.
Four kinds of app, by how they cancel for you
- A mailed letter. Postbye writes a cancellation letter and sends it by certified mail to the company’s mailing address. It needs no login and leaves a delivery record you can show.
- A team inside a finance app. Rocket Money and Hiatus contact the provider for you, on their paid plans, for the providers they can reach.
- A tool list. DoNotPay lists cancelling among more than 100 tools, with no price shown.
- A tracker. Subex, Emma and Bobby show you what you pay for. You still cancel each one yourself.
Which one fits
- Choose Postbye when a company asks for written notice, keeps charging you or makes cancelling hard, and you want proof it received your request.
- Choose Rocket Money if you want a budgeting app that finds your subscriptions and you are happy to pay for Premium; see Rocket Money alternatives if not.
- Choose a tracker such as Subex, Emma or Bobby if you only need the list, then cancel online where the company lets you. Is a cancellation service worth it? covers when that is enough.
How we ranked them
Apps that cancel for you rank above apps that only track, and among those, a mailed letter with a dated delivery record ranks first, because it works where a company takes notice only in writing and it leaves proof. Rocket Money ranks above Hiatus because it states its price and turnaround; DoNotPay shows no price at all. The three trackers are in the table for reference and are not ranked, because they do not cancel anything.
Every fact comes from each app’s own pages, read in November 2026; “Not stated” means the app does not say. For streaming in particular, see the best service to cancel streaming subscriptions. Our criteria are on How we rank.
Questions
Is there an app that cancels subscriptions for you?
Yes. Postbye mails a cancellation letter to the company for you, $23.99 once. Rocket Money and Hiatus cancel by contacting the provider, but only on their paid Premium plans and not for every provider.
Which app cancels subscriptions without linking my bank?
Postbye: it needs only your name, address and email, and your account number if you have one, with no bank link and no passwords. Subex and Bobby track subscriptions you enter by hand, but they do not cancel them.
Can an app cancel a subscription billed through Apple or Google Play?
Rocket Money’s help pages say subscriptions billed through Apple, Google Play, Amazon, Roku or PayPal must be cancelled on that platform. Postbye notes that a plan bought through an app store or a phone carrier can need a second cancellation with that partner, so check who bills you first.