Is a cancellation service worth it?
When cancelling yourself is enough, when a mailed letter helps, and what each route costs, in six common situations.
The short answer
It is worth it when a cancel button is not enough, and then Postbye is our pick. If the company lets you cancel online, do that: it is free and usually confirms on the spot. When the contract asks for written notice, the company keeps charging or ignores you, or you need proof of when it received your request, Postbye writes the letter, mails it by certified mail the next business day and sends you the proof of delivery, for $23.99 once, with a money-back guarantee if it cannot get the subscription cancelled.
Cancel with PostbyeSix situations compared
| Criterion | 1 A mailed letter, sent for you Postbye Our pick | 2 Do it yourself Online, email or phone | 3 A finance app concierge Rocket Money Premium |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | $23.99 once; signed proof +$13.99 | Free, or postage plus the Certified Mail fee for a letter | Premium, pay-what-you-choose, typically $7 to $14 a month (as of November 2026) |
| The company has a cancel button | Not needed: use the button | Best: free and usually confirmed on the spot | Not needed |
| The contract asks for written notice | Best: a certified letter, written and mailed for you | A letter you write, print and mail yourself | Not stated: its team contacts the provider (as of November 2026) |
| The charges continue, or the company says it never heard from you | Best: the proof of delivery shows when it arrived, and Postbye follows up | Your confirmation email or screenshot, if you kept one | Not stated (as of November 2026) |
| You no longer have the login | Works: your name, address and email do the job, no password needed | Hard where the online option needs you to log in | It may ask for your username, email address or password if your details do not match an account (as of November 2026) |
| Billed through Apple, Google Play or a phone carrier | Cancel with that partner too; Postbye’s guides say what to check | Best: cancel in that platform’s subscription settings | Must be cancelled on that platform, per its help pages (as of November 2026) |
| A gym that takes notice only in writing or at your home club | Best: mailed to your home club; for Planet Fitness, picked from 2,732 clubs | A letter you mail yourself, or a visit to the club | Not stated (as of November 2026) |
When doing it yourself is enough
- The company has a cancel option in your account, and you can log in.
- It sends a confirmation email, and you keep it.
- The plan is billed through Apple, Google Play or another platform: cancel it there.
- The next statement shows the charge has stopped.
When a mailed letter helps
- The agreement asks for notice in writing, or a gym takes notice only by mail or at your home club.
- There is no online option, or it sits behind a login you no longer have.
- The company has not answered your emails, or charged you after you cancelled.
- You want a dated delivery record to show the company or your card issuer.
What doing it yourself by mail costs
Mailing your own letter by Certified Mail costs postage plus the USPS Certified Mail fee, and online mailers send a letter you write from $8.63 (LetterStream) to about $11.98 (Mailform) for one certified page, as of November 2026. You write the letter, find the right address and follow up yourself. Compare the routes in the best way to cancel by mail and the proof each leaves in cancel a subscription with proof.
Comparing apps instead? See the best app to cancel subscriptions and, for streaming plans, the best service to cancel streaming subscriptions.
Questions
What happens if a cancellation service fails?
It depends on the service. Postbye refunds under its money-back guarantee within 10 business days if it cannot get the subscription cancelled. As of November 2026, BillSaved refunds its per-call fee if the cancellation is not achieved, and DumpMyGym refunds only on its $49 tier, minus postage, at its discretion. As of November 2026, CancelSent refunds an order until it is printed, and refunds or resends if USPS returns the letter or has not delivered it in 30 days.
Do cancellation services need my password?
Postbye does not: it needs your name, address and email as they appear on the account. Rocket Money’s help pages say it may ask for your username, email address or password when your details do not match an account.
Is it cheaper to mail the letter myself?
Yes, in money: postage plus the Certified Mail fee, or $8.63 to about $11.98 through an online mailer as of November 2026. A service such as Postbye costs $23.99 once and saves you writing the letter, finding the address and the trip to the post office.