Services that cancel a membership for you
Five services that cancel a gym, club, warehouse club or other membership for you, compared on price, the memberships each covers, whether a letter goes in the mail, the proof you get, turnaround and refunds.
The short answer
Postbye is our pick. It writes a cancellation letter in your name, mails it by certified mail the next business day and sends you the proof of delivery, for $23.99 once. It is the only service here that mails a letter to memberships beyond gyms: more than 370 memberships and clubs, from AARP, Walmart+, Costco and Sam’s Club to car washes, plus more than 370 gyms and fitness companies.
Cancel your membership with PostbyeAt a glance
| Criterion | 1 Postbye postbye.com Our pick | 2 CancelSent cancelsent.com | 3 DumpMyGym dumpmygym.com | 4 BillSaved billsaved.com | 5 Rocket Money rocketmoney.com |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price for one cancellation | $23.99 once, taxes included | $24.99 once; a head-office copy is +$14.99 as of November 2026 | $20 (Send It) or $49 (Guaranteed); a free letter to mail yourself as of November 2026 | $3 or $7 per call on its gym page as of November 2026 | Not sold per cancellation: part of Premium, pay-what-you-choose, typically $7 to $14 a month as of November 2026 |
| Memberships covered | More than 370 memberships and clubs, such as AARP, Walmart+, Costco and Sam’s Club, plus more than 370 gyms and fitness companies | Gyms only as of November 2026 | Gyms only: any US gym, studio or health club with a mailing address as of November 2026 | 22 situation types, including gyms as of November 2026 | Many providers, not all; not stated by type as of November 2026 |
| Mails a physical letter | Yes, written for you | Yes, you e-sign it on your phone as of November 2026 | Yes as of November 2026 | No, it calls the company and you stay on the line as of November 2026 | Not stated; an agent contacts the provider as of November 2026 |
| Mail class and proof | Certified mail, and you get the proof of delivery. Signed proof (USPS electronic return receipt) is +$13.99 at checkout | USPS First-Class with Certified Mail and an electronic return receipt; a proof pack PDF as of November 2026 | USPS Certified Mail; tracking number and a PDF proof of mailing as of November 2026 | Not stated; no letter or delivery proof as of November 2026 | Not stated as of November 2026 |
| Turnaround | Mailed the next business day; usually delivered in 2 to 5 business days | To print within about an hour; in the mail in 1 to 2 business days as of November 2026 | Printed and mailed within 1 business day; USPS takes 3 to 5 business days as of November 2026 | Not stated as of November 2026 | Usually 2 to 10 days as of November 2026 |
| Refunds | Money-back guarantee within 10 business days if it cannot get the subscription cancelled | Full refund or free resend if USPS returns the letter or has not delivered it in 30 days as of November 2026 | $49 tier only: a refund minus postage (about $8 to $12) if the letter is delivered and the gym does not cancel, at its discretion as of November 2026 | Per-call fee refunded within 10 business days if the cancellation is not achieved as of November 2026 | Not stated as of November 2026 |
The ranking
1. Postbye
Our pick$23.99 onceMemberships renew on the date you joined, and many are cancelled in the account area, at a counter or in writing, depending on the club. Postbye writes a letter that asks for the membership to end, for every future charge to stop and for written confirmation, and you see it before it is mailed. Then: “We mail yours by certified mail and send you the proof of delivery.” For Planet Fitness it mails to your home club, picked from 2,732 clubs on file. Signed proof is +$13.99 at checkout, and its money-back guarantee applies within 10 business days if it cannot get the membership cancelled.
From postbye.com.
- Letter
- Yes, written for you
- Proof
- Certified mail, and you get the proof of delivery. Signed proof (USPS electronic return receipt) is +$13.99 at checkout
- Turnaround
- Mailed the next business day; usually delivered in 2 to 5 business days
- Covers
- More than 8,700 company guides, including more than 370 gyms and fitness companies
2. CancelSent
$24.99 onceCancelSent mails a gym letter you e-sign on your phone, by USPS First-Class with Certified Mail and an electronic return receipt, for $24.99 once, and sends a proof pack PDF. It covers gyms only, and its order button read “Start my letter (opening soon)” when we read its pages. See CancelSent alternatives.
From cancelsent.com, as of November 2026.
- Letter
- Yes, you e-sign it on your phone
- Proof
- USPS First-Class with Certified Mail and an electronic return receipt; a proof pack PDF
- Turnaround
- To print within about an hour; in the mail in 1 to 2 business days
- Covers
- Gyms only
3. DumpMyGym
$20 or $49DumpMyGym mails a cancellation letter to any US gym, studio or health club with a mailing address, by USPS Certified Mail within one business day, for $20; the $49 tier adds monitoring and a refund, minus postage, if the gym does not cancel, at its discretion. It does not cover other memberships.
From dumpmygym.com, as of November 2026.
- Letter
- Yes
- Proof
- USPS Certified Mail; tracking number and a PDF proof of mailing
- Turnaround
- Printed and mailed within 1 business day; USPS takes 3 to 5 business days
- Covers
- Any US gym, studio or health club with a mailing address
4. BillSaved
$3 or $7 a callBillSaved dials the company, waits on hold and bridges you in, so you stay on the call, at $3 or $7 a call on its gym page. The per-call fee is refunded within 10 business days if the cancellation is not achieved. No letter and no delivery proof.
From billsaved.com, as of November 2026.
- Letter
- No, it calls the company and you stay on the line
- Proof
- Not stated; no letter or delivery proof
- Turnaround
- Not stated
- Covers
- 22 situation types, including gyms, telecom and insurance
5. Rocket Money
$7 to $14 a monthRocket Money’s team cancels for Premium members, typically $7 to $14 a month, usually in 2 to 10 days, for the providers it supports; it does not say which memberships those are, and no mail class or proof is stated.
From rocketmoney.com, as of November 2026.
- Letter
- Not stated; an agent contacts the provider
- Proof
- Not stated
- Turnaround
- Usually 2 to 10 days
- Covers
- Many providers, not all
What to know by kind of membership
- Warehouse clubs and associations such as Costco, Sam’s Club and AARP usually renew on the anniversary of the day you joined. Quote your member number and the renewal date.
- Gyms often ask for notice in writing, set a notice window before the next billing date and tie the cancellation to your home club. See gym cancellation services compared and the best way to cancel a gym membership.
- Household and family accounts: ask for every member billed on the same account to be stopped, not only you.
- Automatic bank payments: stopping the payment alone does not end the membership. The CFPB says to cancel your contract with the company as well as telling it to stop the payments.
How we ranked them
We ranked each service on the six rows of the table. A mailed letter with a dated delivery record counts most, then the memberships covered and what happens if the club does not cancel; price and turnaround decide between close services. CancelSent ranks above DumpMyGym because its $24.99 includes the return receipt and any returned or undelivered letter gets a refund or resend; BillSaved ranks above Rocket Money for its stated per-call price and refund.
Every fact comes from each service’s own pages, read in November 2026. See How we rank.
Questions
Can someone cancel my Costco membership for me?
Yes. Postbye mails a cancellation letter to Costco in your name for $23.99 once; Costco is among the more than 370 memberships and clubs it covers. CancelSent and DumpMyGym cover gyms only.
What should a membership cancellation letter include?
Your name and address as on the membership, your member number, the club or plan name if there is one, one sentence saying you are cancelling, the end date, a request to stop every future charge and to confirm in writing, the date and your signature.
Is a phone call enough to cancel a membership?
Where the club takes cancellations by phone, it can be, but a call leaves you only your own notes. A letter by certified mail gives you a dated delivery record if the club says it never heard from you.